Docs    facebook    Getting Started

I Just Upgraded to Pro But Can’t Use the New Features

The “Pro” version and “free” version of Instagram Feed are separate plugins. A quick and easy way to check which version you might still be using is to go to the plugin’s settings and see if there is a “License” (tabbed page) showing in the top of the settings pages. If not then you are still using the Free version and need to swap it out with the Pro version that you purchased.

An email should have been sent with the “Pro” version .zip file and a link to directions on how to upgrade. Check your spam folder for this. Otherwise the latest version of the plugin along with instructions on how to install it are always available on your My Account page.

To properly swap out the Free version and replace it with the Pro version perform the manual installation process outlined below which will completely replace all of the current Free plugin files with the latest version of the Pro plugin that you purchased without requiring you to reconfigure the plugin settings after doing so. The process takes about 3 minutes. Please do the exact following:

Step #1 – Save your current plugin settings:

For Custom Facebook Feed: Go to your WordPress Dashboard – Facebook Feed – Customize (tabbed page) – Misc (sub-tabbed page) – scroll to bottom of the page and make sure the box next to the setting of “Preserve settings when plugin is removed” has a check mark in it. Then click on “Save Changes” at the bottom of the page.

For Instagram Feed: Go to your WordPress Dashboard – Instagram Feed – Settings – 1. Configure (tabbed page) – scroll to the setting of “Preserve settings when plugin is removed” and make sure the “Yes” box next to it has a check mark in it. Then click on “Save Changes” at the bottom of the page.

For Custom Twitter Feeds: Go to your WordPress Dashboard – Twitter Feeds – 1. Configure (tabbed page) – scroll to the setting of “Preserve settings when plugin is removed” and make sure the box next to it has a check mark in it. Then click on “Save Changes” at the bottom of the page.

For Feeds for YouTube: Go to your WordPress Dashboard – Feeds for YouTube – 2. Customize (tabbed page) – scroll to the bottom section on the page “Advanced” and then for the setting of “Preserve settings when plugin is removed” make sure the box next to it has a check mark in it. Then click on “Save Changes” at the bottom of the page.

Step #2 – Remove the currently installed plugin:

  • Next go to your WordPress Dashboard – Plugins and deactivate the current plugin.
  • Then delete the current plugin.

Step #3 – Now install the Pro version:

  • Download the zip file of the latest Pro version from here using the Smash Balloon user account name that the plugin was purchased under.
  • After logging into your account click on the “Downloads” section and scroll down to the correct product and then click on the “Download Plugin” button for that product.
  • Save the plugin file to a location on your desktop or hard drive where you can access it in a few minutes.
  • Next on your WordPress Dashboard click on Plugins – Add New (button in the upper left corner of your screen) – Upload Plugin (button is in the upper left corner of your screen) – Choose File (button is in the middle of your screen) – Navigate to wherever you stored the attached plugin file – then click on “Install Now” (button in the middle of your screen).
  • Once you get the message that the plugin has been installed you then need to activate the plugin itself within WordPress by going to your WordPress Dashboard – Plugins section.
  • After activation of the plugin then you need to also activate the plugin’s license key. Go to your WordPress Dashboard – your plugin – Settings – License (tabbed page).
  • Now enter your plugin’s license key in the field on the License page and then activate the license on the site. (Note: It may take a few clicks for the server to catch the signal).
  • DONE!

    You should now have the latest Pro Version installed. It will automatically find your previous plugin settings that you saved from the other version during Step #1 above.

    Technical Support

    Still have questions? We are here to help you succeed.

    Open a support ticket